Away from my blog for a while

Posted on Updated on

Hi!  I haven’t written any posts lately, and I apologize to my readers for the delay.  I’m spending every spare waking moment finishing off a large report for the clinic I volunteer for, as the final requirement for my practicum work term there.   And, following “Cedar’s Third Law” (or “Cedar’s First Law of Project Management”:)  “Every project will take twice as long as you originally estimate.” And, indeed, this one has.  So, wish me luck.  The finish line for my Masters degree is finally in sight … !

Meanwhile, as most of you know, I am a support and advocate for young mothers.  I want to share these two sites with you:

Promoting Respect for Young Mothers at http://prymface.yolasite.com

and Moms and Mentors Society at http://www.momsandmentors.ca

Maureen Hobbs, who coordinators Moms and Mentors, wrote an excellent Masters’ thesis for  her Nursing degree, written on how support for young mother can make so much difference for them.  (Frankly, this support is something that older mothers take for granted!).   On a discouraging note, I heard from another mother in Vancouver who spoke with the coordinator or a support group for young mothers — she said that young mothers are still openly insulted to their faces and yelled at  on Public transit in Vancouver — there is still a huge amount of stigma against a woman having a child during the first half of her most fertile years, the time when Nature intends us to give birth.

4 thoughts on “Away from my blog for a while

    KarenWB said:
    April 14, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Wondered why I hadn’t heard from you! Please respond when time permits.

    Hugs,
    Karen

    Carol said:
    April 16, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    Congrats on getting down to the wire!

    and thanks for posting those 2 links – great resources!

    Joe said:
    April 22, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Thanks for linking to my site! Here is my latest rant about how young mums are portrayed in the media http://prymface.yolasite.com/blog/how-should-we-portray-teenage-parents-
    I’ve just read your ‘truth about teen parenting’ post and I think we’ve done a lot of the same reading! http://prymface.yolasite.com/reading-list.php
    Hope its ok if I like to your post on my site (and add to my reading list!).
    Thank you again-Totally agree with everything you say!
    Prymface

      Cedar said:
      April 22, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      I would be honoured for you to link my post on your site. 🙂 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

