Yes, there’s been a name change (well, err…)

Posted on Updated on

Same URL, same blog, same author … but yes, a different name.   Of course, i’m waffling on it.  What should I name it?

Thank you, dear readers for your suggestions, and I am open to hearing more of them.    I have not completely settled on “Adoption Critique” for the name of this blog.  There are many other options:

… Adoption Voice?
… Adoption Trauma Survivor?
… Adoption Words?
… Adoption Critic?
… ?

So, what do you think?  Do you like “Adoption Critique”?  Is something else better?

I thought it was better than “Adoption Analysis” (boring?)  🙂

So, your feedback is always  invited.

~~~~

….   Ten years ago today, our reunion.  We hugged for the very first time.  I got to touch him for the first time.  That right, the right that all other mothers take for granted, the right to hold and hug their babies, had been stripped from me — stolen from me — the moment he was born.

18 thoughts on “Yes, there’s been a name change (well, err…)

    Lois Luckovich said:
    February 20, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Adoption Policy should be analyzed at some point in future.
    You know me as I am on your Island and you know what happened to me.

    Nobody is analyzing policy over what happened to me and I really think they should because the coercion was very clear once I was well enough to see it.

    Hugs to ya pal
    Lois

    Lori said:
    February 20, 2010 at 6:49 am

    How about “Adoption, Me and My Child”?

    maybe said:
    February 20, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Adoption Interuppted
    Adoption Defeated
    Unlearning Adoption
    Adoption Facts and Analysis
    Adoption – Why?
    Adoption Reality

    KarenWB said:
    February 20, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    Adoption: Under the Microscope?

    angelle2 said:
    February 20, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    Adoption Inquisition?

    unicorn said:
    February 21, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    I would avoid “Adoption Voice” as it could be confused with “Adoption Voices”, “Voices of Adoption”, “Voice for Adoption” and the sound of it doesn’t really put forward what your blog is about.

    Madduchess said:
    February 22, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    How about:

    Don’t call me Birthmother!
    Raising my voice as a survivor of adoption loss

    Lois Luckovich said:
    February 22, 2010 at 11:08 pm

    I agree with madduchess in part. NOTHING annoys me more than getting pictures in an envelop marked “Birthmother”

    I AM A MOTHER!

    But Adoption Crtique works for me because I believe the whole system needs to be scrappred and rebuilt!

    Lois

    unicorn said:
    February 23, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I agree with Lois – Adoption Critique works for me as well.

    KarenWB said:
    February 23, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Adoption Assessment?

    Adoption Evaluation?

    The Improper Adoptee said:
    February 25, 2010 at 11:35 pm

    How about just “I AM NOT a Birthmother”

    The Improper Adoptee said:
    February 25, 2010 at 11:36 pm

    Whoops-I Am NOT A BirthMother. Damn stupid typo fairy, I’m getting my fly swatter…….

    Cedar said:
    February 26, 2010 at 12:35 am

    I thought about that name as well, Improper Adoptee. It is a good, strong title and spells out how I feel. But I am just not certain if I want to see that nauseating term in my face every day. It makes me sick to my stomach. Good suggestion though.

    The Improper Adoptee said:
    February 26, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    LoL cedar-I know how you feel and you are right. I’m so sick of the entire subject of Closed Records right now I could hurl…I do like Adoption Critique-and I think you should trust your gut instinct about what to name your blog. Which I happen to love btw.

    Clare said:
    February 27, 2010 at 12:16 am

    hi Cedar
    My name is Clare. I follow adultadoptees and post as cpboston. I wanted to bring to your attention a request on Canada Adopts. Deb (AP and author of a book on happy adoptions) writes:
    Hi All…I will be speaking at an adoption event in March,and it is a gathering of women, on the topic of ” motherhood” with the theme of adoption.

    We are looking for a birthmother that would be interested in coming to speak on her perspectives as a birthmother. The event is being held in Mississauga on March 13th in the evening.If you are interested in this, and would like to know more, please PM me and I can give dtails. Best… Deborah.
    I have no idea where Mississauga is but understand you are in Canada and wondered if you might know of anyone in the area willing to take this on or even just willing to pm her. Warning! expect a hostile response. I’m just hoping maybe someone could give her some honest feedback. Sorry for sending this through your comments. I wasn’t sure how else to reach you. thank you!

      Cedar said:
      March 3, 2010 at 2:53 am

      thanks for sending this info! 🙂

    CarolC said:
    March 2, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    I like Adoption Critique but also like Karen WB’s idea
    Adoption Under the Microscope.

    This is probably too long, but :

    Adoption: The Truth Hurts

    luckyjodi said:
    March 24, 2010 at 4:37 am

    Reading a bit, sympathetic to your story… Curious though if your adoption criticism is contained to women being coerced to give up babies “back in the day” (and why? what did they say? i can’t imagine anyone saying anything that would have convinced me to give up my sons so I’m wondering how they convinced you!) or does your criticism apply to all adoptions (eg. older children, clear evidence of abuse, abandonment…)?

Leave a Reply

