Happy birthday, hon!

Posted on Updated on

Happy birthday, my precious first-born!  I never imagined we’d be reunited for 10 years, 1/3 of your life.   Plus i feel far too young to possibly have a son who is 30!  Come on, I’m not nearly old enough for that!

I still remember that clerk in the furniture store, when we were buying stuff for your/our apartment, referring to you as “my brother” and when i said with a smile that you were my son, she stated in surprise “How old were you when you had him — four?!?”  We had a great laugh over that one!

Anyway, happy birthday, honey.  I hope we have many more great years together, back together, where we belong.  We have come a long long way in only 10 years, restoring everything we could that was taken from us.   But we will never get those 20 long years back, and I think we will both always grieve that loss.

I want to share with my readers how you described to a classmate today the reason why you belonged to Origins:   “I was adopted, and it was the most painful thing that every happened to me.”   Your words are echoed by so many other adoptees I know.  I will forever try  everything I can to take away your pain.

~~~

(Related post, for visitors who have not read how this all began:  February 20, 1980)

2 thoughts on “Happy birthday, hon!

    Cricket said:
    February 17, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Happy Birthday to your son 🙂 I know how much it meant to me to hear my mother tell me “Happy Birthday Sweetheart” for the first time in 35 years and my heart is full of joy for you.

    ~Christina

    unicorn said:
    February 19, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    Happy Birthday to your son! I know how wonderful it is to be able to do that in person.

Leave a Reply

