Where to begin?

Posted on Updated on

I went through my articles and journal entries last night, to see what would be appropriate to start with for this blog. I looked at articles on helping moms keep their babies, on coercion, on teen pregnancy, on reunion, on language … and they all appeared to be the second chapter in a book. The introduction and chapter 1 was necessary first. What was my personal experience with the social construct called “adoption”? What led to my opinions today?

Personally, I believe that my writing on these topics should not  in any way be read in light of my personal experience — but it is a fact that my experience is what led me to examine these topics. It is not because of them that I hold the views I do, because I know that there are people who were adopted, people who have adopted, and people with no experience with adoption who also hold these opinions and agree with me. But I also think that it is necessary to (1) let the reader know a bit about me, as this is a blog and people like to know a bit about the writer, and (2) show you what experiences led me to this position of reflection, analysis, and critique of current and past adoption practice.

I would like your feedback of course — do you want to hear the tale of how my baby and I were separated by adoption 28 years ago? Or is this information irrelevant? I leave it up to you.

4 thoughts on “Where to begin?

    maybe said:
    August 14, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Please share your personal story, all mothers’ stories have great value in changing public opinion on the concept of adoption.

    You know what they say, the personal is political.

    TheRightThing said:
    August 16, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    Hey Cedar,
    I really appreciate your comments. I would love to hear your story.

    Thanks for dropping by on my blog and commenting. You have made me think about my situation many times.

    Denise Roessle said:
    August 24, 2008 at 1:15 am

    Yes, please share. And I invite you (and any other first moms) to add your story to The Mother’s Story Project at Origins-usa.org

    Lori said:
    August 24, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    People believe when they see it over and over. Sometimes it takes a kick in the face to understand.

Leave a Reply

